

Town of Barnstable Town Council James H. Crocker Jr. Hearing Room 367 Main Street, 2nd floor, Hyannis, MA 02601 Office 508.862.4738 • Fax 508.862.4770 E-mail: council@town.barnstable.ma.us

SPECIAL TOWN COUNCIL MEETING AGENDA April 11, 2024 6:00 pm

The April 11, 2024 Meeting of the Barnstable Town Council shall be conducted in person for Councilors, Board members, invited guests and staff at 367 Main Street 2nd Floor James H. Crocker Jr. Hearing Room, Hyannis, MA. **The meeting will be physically closed to the public.**

Due to the limited capacity of the Hearing Room, public access will be remote only, as follows:

The meeting will be televised live via Xfinity Channel 8 or 1070 or High-Definition Channel 1072 or may be accessed via the Government Access Channel live stream on the Town of Barnstable's website: http://streaming85.townofbarnstable.us/CablecastPublicSite/watch/1?channel=1

The Public will be allowed to submit written questions in advance until 12:00pm (noon) on April 10, 2024 to:

https://tobweb.town.barnstable.ma.us/boardscommittees/towncouncil/Town Council/Agenda-Comment.asp

This is the second of several workshops on water resources. This workshop will focus on Per- and Polyfluorinated Substances (PFAS) Contamination in Barnstable. Future workshops will focus on surface and freshwater coastal resources.

1. ROLL CALL

2. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

3. MOMENT OF SILENCE

WORKSHOP SESSION

Per- and Polyfluorinated Substances (PFAS) Contamination in Barnstable Daniel W. Santos, P.E., Director of Public Works

PRESENTATIONS

- Massachusetts Department of Environmental Protection
- Silent Spring Institute: Dr. Laurel Schaider, PhD, Senior Scientist, Environmental Chemistry and Engineering
- Barnstable County: Beth Albert, Administrator, Barnstable County; Paul Ruszala, P.E. Manager, Assets and Infrastructure, Barnstable County
- Cape Cod Gateway Airport: Katie Servis, Manager Cape Cod Gateway Airport; Bryan Massa
- Town of Yarmouth: Robert Whritenour, Town Administrator
- Barnstable Municipal Water Board: Sam Wilson, Chair and Hans Keijser, Water Division Supervisor, Town of Barnstable
- Barnstable Fire District Water Department: Water Commissioners Sean Anderson and Ronald Tivey
- Centerville Osterville and Marstons Mills Water Department: Craig Crocker, Superintendent of the C-O-MM Water Department
- Cotuit Water Department: David Churbuck

Councilors:

Felicia R. Penn President Precinct 13

Craig Tamash Vice President Precinct 4

Gordon Starr Precinct 1

Dr. Kristin Terkelsen Precinct 2

Betty Ludtke Precinct 3

John Crow Precinct 5

Paul C. Neary Precinct 6

Seth Burdick Precinct 7

Jeffrey Mendes Precinct 8

Charles Bloom Precinct 9

Matthew Levesque Precinct 10

Kris Clark Precinct 11

Paula Schnepp Precinct 12

Administrator: Cynthia A. Lovell Cynthia.lovell@town. barnstable.ma.us

4. DISCUSSION

5. QUESTIONS SUBMITTED FROM THE PUBLIC

ADJOURN

NEXT REGULAR TOWN COUNCIL MEETING April 25, 2024